• font sizeA
  • A
  • A
The RM of Portage la Prairie is comprised of seven wards, each with its own elected representative.
The Reeve is the head of the council and is elected by the entire municipality.
The council currently consists of the following representatives:

Reeve: Kam Blight 
Ward One: Garth Asham
Ward Two: Doug McAuley
Ward Three: Terry Simpson
Ward Four: Roy Tufford
Ward Five: Arnold Verwey
Ward Six: Dale Wood
Ward Seven: Kevin Blight

After conducting an internal review of what Council considers as the municipality’s strengths, areas for improvement, opportunities and challenges, the Council identified 5 key priority areas:

  1. Growth
  2. Partnership
  3. Roads
  4. Drainage
  5. Financial Stewardship
The Council Key Priority Areas provides a detailed description of the key priority areas. 

The 2021 Strategic Plan was approved at the RM Council meeting on January 26, 2021.